Hon. Ananda Kumarasiri is the new Deputy Speaker

Date : 05-06-2018

ananda-kumarasiri-mpThe Hon. J. M. Ananda Kumarasiri, MP was elected as Deputy Speaker and Chairperson of Committees of the Parliament of Sri Lanka. His name was proposed and seconded by the Hon. Buddhika Pathirana and the Hon. (Prof.) Ashu Marasinghe, respectively. The election was done by secret ballot after the name of Hon. (Dr.) (Mrs.) Sudarshini Fernandopulle was also proposed for this office. The Hon. Kumarasiri received 97 votes, while Hon. Fernandopulle received 53 votes. One ballot was rejected.


The vacancy was announced by the Hon. Speaker at the beginning of proceedings of the House today. Parliament proceeded to elect a new Deputy Speaker under Standing Order no. 6 of Parliament after the conclusion of “Questions under Standing Order No. 27(2)”. The former Deputy Speaker, Hon. Thilanga Sumathipala resigned on the 25th of May 2018.


Hon. J. M. Ananda Kumarasiri is a Member of Parliament representing Monaragala district and was first elected to Parliament in 1986. He has a cumulative legislative service of nearly 9 years.







Submit to Delicious Submit to Digg Submit to Facebook Submit to Google Bookmarks Submit to Twitter Submit to LinkedIn

Parliament Calendar

download parliament mobile app

Mailing List Subscription

Copyright © The Parliament of Sri Lanka. All Rights Reserved.

Solution by: Lankacom