Select Committees

These are Ad-hoc Committees and they are appointed by the Speaker to inquire into and report to the House on a particular matter referred to these Committees. The scope of an inquiry by these Committees is defined by the Terms of Reference under which they are appointed, but it may be enlarged or restricted by the instruction of the Parliament. The Chairman and members are appointed by the Speaker. A Select Committee consists of not more than twelve members. But this can be increased with the leave of Parliament. Parliament empowers these Committees to send for persons, papers and records.

Parliament Calendar

download parliament mobile app

Mailing List Subscription

Copyright © The Parliament of Sri Lanka. All Rights Reserved.

Solution by: Lankacom